There are a number of quick participant controls you may want to take advantage of during your Zoom meeting. Accessing the host tools will allow for the easiest way to access those controls.
1. Start the Zoom meeting as a host.
2. Click Host Tools in the navigation bar. The host tools will appear as either a pop-up or side panel in Zoom depending on the screen size.
The toggle button next to a menu item provides information about the status of the feature.
- If the toggle button is GREY, the feature is OFF.
- If the toggle button is BLUE, the feature is ON.
3. To lock your meeting so no additional participants can enter, switch the toggle button next to "Lock meeting".
NOTE: If one of your meeting participants loses their internet connection and leaves the meeting, they will NOT be able to re-enter your meeting if it is locked.
4. To enable the waiting room for your meeting, switch the toggle button next to "Enable waiting room".
If one of your meeting participants loses their internet connection and leaves the room or if someone is late for your meeting, you will be able to admit them from your waiting room.
5. To allow participants to share their screen, click Advanced.
NOTE: Share screen is a popular feature used for disrupting a Zoom meeting and should be ON only when you know all the participants in your meeting and your meeting is locked or has a waiting room.
6. To disable participants from writing on whiteboard or notes, click Whiteboards in Advanced settings.
7. To allow your participants to send a message using Chat, click Participants. Then, click the toggle button next to "Chat".
Whether Chat is checked or not checked, the host will always be able to send a message to meeting participants.













