TC Technology Knowledge Base

Managing pre-Assigned Zoom Breakout Rooms

Updated on

Students must log into their Teachers College Zoom account. Guests will not be placed in their pre-assigned breakout rooms automatically. If you have participants with (guest) after their name, ask them to leave and login to Zoom to return to the meeting.

1. In your Zoom meeting, click Breakout Rooms from the navigation bar.

If you are not seeing Breakout Rooms in your navigation bar, click More. Then, click Breakout Rooms in the pop-up menu.

2. At the top of the pop-up window, the Breakout rooms status will show that the breakout rooms have not started. The pre-assigned rooms will appear with the participant assignments. Click the gear icon.

Desktop

3. In the pop-up, check the box for Automatically move all assigned participants into breakout rooms when breakout rooms are opened.

4. Then, click Recreate.

Desktop

5. In the pop-up, click Assign automatically. Then, click Recreate.

Desktop

6. Then, click Open All Rooms.

Anyone logged in as a guest or logged in after you recreate the rooms will need to be manually assigned to a room.

Zoom Meeting

7. The breakout room status will change to In Progress.

Zoom Meeting

8. To end close the breakout rooms and return to the main meeting, click Close all rooms.

Desktop

9. In the pop-up, confirm you want to close the rooms.

Zoom Meeting
Previous Article Schedule a Zoom meeting with pre-assigned Breakout rooms
Next Article Join a Zoom meeting with pre-assigned Breakout room as an attendee