TC Technology Knowledge Base

Use Breakout Rooms in a Zoom meeting

Updated on

1. In your Zoom meeting, click Breakout Rooms from the navigation bar.

If you are not seeing Breakout Rooms in your navigation bar, click More. Then, click Breakout Rooms.

2. In the pop-up window, set the number of breakout rooms you would like and how you would like participants assigned to each breakout room. Then, click Create.

3. To assign participants to a breakout room, click Assign. Then, check the box next to the name of the participant you would like to add to the breakout room.

3.1. The participant will now be listed under the breakout room they have been assigned to.

4. To reassign a participant to a different breakout room, click Move To for the participant you'd like to move. Then, select from the available breakout rooms.

5. To rename a breakout room, click Rename. Choose your preferred name. Then, click Yes to save your changes.

6. To delete a room, click Delete room. Then, click Yes to confirm your choice.

7. To add a breakout room, click Add room at the bottom.

7.1. Your new breakout room will now be listed.

8. To re-start the breakout room creation process, click Recreate. Then, fill out the sections. Once you are finished, click Recreate.

9. Once your assignments are set. Click Open All Rooms.

10. To view which breakout room a participant is in, click the Rooms tab.

Students must accept the invitation in order to join the breakout room.

10.1. You may also view which breakout room each participant is in, by clicking on the Participants tab.

11. To join a breakout room as a host, click Join. Then, click Yes to confirm.

12. To send a message to all participants, click Broadcast. Then, select either Broadcast message or Broadcast voice.

12.1. To broadcast a message, type your message. Then, click the paper airplane icon to send the message.

12.2. To broadcast voice, make sure to unmute your microphone first. Then, click the blue circle to start broadcasting your voice across all breakout rooms.

13. When you are ready to close the breakout rooms click Close all rooms. In the pop-up, confirm your choice by clicking Close all rooms.

Participants will then have 60 seconds to finish their conversations before the breakout room closes.

Previous Article Suspend Zoom participant activities in a Zoom meeting
Next Article Disable participants to unmute themselves in a Zoom meeting