How to get started with Team Drive

1.1 How to add members and set permissions

When you add new members to a Team Drive, they’re given full access to upload, edit, and delete files. Full access members can also invite other members. If needed, you can change a member’s permission level. The chart below illustrates the type of access at each permission level:

1. To add members and set permissions, locate and click Team Drives on the left side of the screen.

2. At the top, under the Team Drive name, click +Add members.

3. Add names, email addresses, or groups from Google Groups.

4. To change the permission from Full access, next to Full, click the Down arrow and choose a new permission.

If you don’t want to send a notification to the new members, check the Skip sending notification box.

5.. Click Send.

1.2 Change member permissions

Full access permission required in order to change member permissions

1. On the left, click Team Drives

2. At the top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow to Manage members.

3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow and select a new permission.

4. Click Done.

1.3 Remove members from a Team Drive

1. On the left, click Team Drives

2. At the top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow and select Manage members.  Then, ext to a member’s name, click the Down arrow and select Remove member.

4. Click Done.

If you remove someone from a Team Drive, they might still have access to files shared in other ways, such as files shared with everyone in your organization by link or through a group.

2.1 How to create folders

1. From the Team Drive you created,  click New

2. Select and click Folder.

3. Enter a folder name and click Create.

To upload an existing folder from your computer to your Team Drive, click Folder upload (seen in the screenshot in Step 2 above), and navigate to the folder and open it to upload.

2.2 Add and edit files

Requires at least edit access permission

Any files you add are owned by the team. If you leave the Team Drive, your files remain.

1. From your Team Drive, click New.

2. There are several ways to create, add and edit files on Team Drive:

  • To create a file, select the file type you want to create, such as Google Docs.
  • To upload a file, select File upload. Navigate to the file and open it.

3. Once a file has been uploaded or created, double-click the file to open and edit it.

3.1 How to move files

1. To move files from My Drive into a Team Drive or between Team Drives, simply drag the file(s) into the destination Team Drive folder.

 

Move files from My Drive to a Team Drive:

You can move any file you own into a Team Drive, whether it’s from another Drive location or from your computer or mobile device. 

If you’re not the owner of a file in My Drive but have Can edit access, you can move that file into a Team Drive if the file’s owner is a member of the Team Drive where you want to move the file. Otherwise, you need to ask the owner to move the file into the Team Drive.

Move files between Team Drives:

To move files between Team Drives, you need full access permission to the original Team Drive and at least edit access to the destination Team Drive.

3.2 Delete or restore files

Requires full access permission to delete a file, and at least edit access permission to restore a file

1.  To delete a file, click the file you want to delete and at the top, click Trash.

 

Note: If you delete a file in a Team Drive, it deletes the file for everyone.

2. To restore a file, from your Team Drive, navigate to the top next to the Team Drive name, click the down arrow, then select View trash.

 

3. Right-click on the file you wish to restore, then select Restore.

If you delete a file from a Team Drive and do not want any other members of the Team Drive to be able to recover the file from the trash, select  Delete forever, which can be seen in the screenshot above. Otherwise, the deleted item will sit in the trash for 30 days before it is permanently deleted by Google.

4.1 How to share files

1. In a Team Drive, click the file you want to share, then right-click on the file and select Share.

2. Add names, email addresses, or groups from Google Groups.

3. The permissions for the file deafult to Edit. To change the permission from Edit, click the Down arrow and choose another permission.

4. Once finished adding and setting permissions, click Send.

Sharing a link to a file: To make a file widely accessible, you can share the file with a link. Anyone at tc.columbia.edu who gets the link can access the file, so exercise caution when deciding which files to share using this feature. To share a link, do the following:

  1. In a Team Drive, right-click the file you want to share.
  2. Click Get shareable link.
  3. Next to Link sharing off, click the button to set linking sharing to On.
  4. Copy the link that has been generated and share the link as needed.